microservicemanagement

ADAMOS Microservice Management

ADAMOS Microservice Management provides you with an integrated solution based on Kubernetes and Docker and as such allows you to build and deploy your custom business logic to the ADAMOS IIoT platform while applying microservice principles with ease. Microservices can extend already existing platform functionalities or provide new Services.

Microservice Management

The ADAMOS Microservice Management module is built upon the container and container orchestration technologies Docker and Kubernetes. This way developers can focus on implementing valuable business logic as microservices inside Docker containers and leave non-functional requirements such as hosting, auto-scaling, load-balancing, security, high availability and monitoring of containers to the managed Kubernetes cluster of the ADAMOS IIoT Platform.

The integration with the multi-tenant ADAMOS Core allows to define multiple container isolation levels, i.e. whether a container is instantiated just for a single tenant or for multiple tenants.

Microservice Registry

ADAMOS Microservice Management offers you a managed registry to which you can upload, register and store your Docker images. Once available in the registry, microservices can be published to the application marketplace of the ADAMOS Core module as applications. Tenant administrators can then subscribe these applications. Such a subscription results in a new Docker container to be launched based on the underlying image.

Microservice APIs & SDKs

For Docker-based microservices a documented and security-enforced public API is provided that is used to exchange data between the platform and the microservices hosted on the platform. In addition, the Microservice Management module provides Java and C# SDKs including accompanying build scripts which simplify implementation tasks and automation procedures.

Good to know

Nowadays microservices are probably the most prominent approach to designing software architectures and developing according software solutions. The core characteristic of the approach is to build a large application as a loosely coupled suite of modular services. Microservices are independently deployable and scalable and communicate with each other over well-defined APIs.

microservicemanagement

ADAMOS Microservice Management

ADAMOS Microservice Management stellt eine integrierte Lösung auf Basis von Kubernetes und Docker zur Verfügung and erlaubt es Microservice Anwendungen auf einfache Weise in der ADAMOS IIoT-Plattform bereitzustellen. Diese Microservices können bereits existierende Funktionalitäten der Plattform erweitern oder komplett neue Services bereitstellen.

Microservice Hosting

Das ADAMOS Microservice Management Modul basiert auf den Container Orchestrierungstechnologien Docker und Kubernetes. Es erlaubt Entwicklern sich auf die Implementierung von wertschöpfenden Anwendungen und deren Bereitstellung in Containern zu konzentrieren und die Umsetzung nichtfunktionaler Anforderungen wie beispielsweise automatische Skalierung, Lastverteilung, und Hochverfügbarkeit von Containern dem Kubernetes Cluster der ADAMOS Plattform überlassen.

Durch die nahtlose Integration mit dem mandantenfähigen ADAMOS Core Modul besteht die Möglichkeit, unterschiedliche Isolierungsebenen für Container zu definieren. Isolierungsebenen kontrollieren beispielsweise, ob ein Container lediglich für einen Mandanten oder für mehrere Mandanten instanziiert wird.

Microservice Registry

Das ADAMOS Microservice Management Modul stellt eine Microservice Registry zur Verfügung, zu der Docker Images hochgeladen sowie dort registriert und abgelegt werden können. Nach der Registrierung können die Images als Anwendungen im ADAMOS Core Modul veröffentlicht werden. Die Administratoren der ADAMOS Mandanten können die Anwendungen dann abonnieren, wodurch automatisch Docker Container auf Basis der definierten Konfiguration gestartet werden.

Microservice APIs & SDKs

Für die Erstellung und Verwaltung der Docker Images und Container sowie für die Kommunikation zwischen den Containern und der Plattform steht eine abgesicherte API zur Verfügung. Des Weiteren werden über das Microservice Management Modul Java und C# SDKs mit entsprechenden Build Skripten bereitgestellt, um die Implementierungsaufgaben und Automatisierungsprozesse zu vereinfachen.

Good to know

Microservices sind derzeit der wohl bedeutendste Ansatz, um Softwarearchitekturen und entsprechende Softwarelösungen zu designen. Die wesentliche Charakteristik dieses Ansatzes ist es, Anwendungen aus lose gekoppelten modularen Services zu entwickeln. Microservices können unabhängig voneinander bereitgestellt und skaliert werden und kommunizieren miteinander über wohldefinierte Schnittstellen.